What are the classification of plant viruses?

The plant viruses are classified on the basis of structure, physicochemical properties, serological relationships, activities in the host plants, and transmission.

What are the 5 classification groups for viruses?

The first broad division used in virus classification separates viruses into vertebrate viruses, invertebrate viruses, plant viruses, bacterial viruses, and algae, fungi, yeast, and protozoan viruses.

What are the 3 ways of classifying viruses?

Viruses are classified on the basis of morphology, chemical composition, and mode of replication.

What are the four classification of plant disease?

The infected part of the plant gives an indication of the type of plant disease, such as infected root which is usually correlated with root-rot disease [3]. The plant diseases can be classified according to several parameters: disease symptoms, infected organ, infected plant type, and the type of phytopathogen.

What is the classification and nomenclature of viruses?

Since 1966 the classification and nomenclature of viruses at the higher taxonomic levels (families and genera) has been systematically organized by the International Committee on Taxonomy of Viruses. The highest taxonomic group among viruses is the family; families are named with a suffix -viridae.

How viruses are classified and named?

Viruses are classified by phenotypic characteristics, such as morphology, nucleic acid type, mode of replication, host organisms, and the type of disease they cause.

What are the characteristics for classification of viruses?

Four characteristics were to be used for the classification of all viruses: Type of the nucleic acid including size of the genome, strandedness (single or double), linear or circular, positive or negative (sense), segments (number and size), sequence and G+C content etc.

What is most important factor for virus classification?

Because the viral genome carries the blueprint for producing new viruses, virologists consider it the most important characteristic for classification.

What are the 6 classes of viruses?


  • Group I: double-stranded DNA viruses.
  • Group II: single-stranded DNA viruses.
  • Group III: double-stranded RNA viruses.
  • Group IV: positive sense single-stranded RNA viruses.
  • Group V: negative sense single-stranded RNA viruses.
  • Group VI: single-stranded RNA viruses with a DNA intermediate.