What are the 5 key institutions of the EU?

They are, as listed in Article 13 of the Treaty on European Union:

  • the European Parliament,
  • the European Council (of Heads of State or Government),
  • the Council of the European Union (of national Ministers, a Council for each area of responsibility),
  • the European Commission,
  • the Court of Justice of the European Union,

What are the main EU institutions?

EU Institutions

  • European Council. The European Council brings together the heads of state or government of every EU country and decides on the political direction of the EU.
  • Council of the European Union.
  • European Commission.
  • European Parliament.
  • European Court of Justice.
  • Court of Auditors.
  • European Ombudsman.

Which EU institution is most powerful?

71. The Commission is the most powerful institution in the EU but the Court of Justice is the most important.

What are the 3 institutions of EU?

The legislative, or law making, function of the EU is carried out by 3 institutions:

  • The European Parliament.
  • The Council of the European Union.
  • The European Commission.

What is the institutional triangle of the EU?

The Institutional Triangle There are three core institutions which make up the legislative and executive power of the EU. Together, the European Parliament, the Council of the European Union and the European Commission are responsible for making policy and decisions.

Why are there only 12 stars on the EU flag?

In various traditions, twelve is a symbolic number representing perfection. It is also the number of months in a year and the number of hours shown on a clock face. The circle is a symbol of unity. So it was decided to put 12 stars in a circle on the European flag, representing unity among the peoples of Europe.

Who is prime minister of EU?

President of the European Commission
Incumbent Ursula von der Leyen since 1 December 2019
European Commission
Style President
Status Chief Executive

What are the 7 institutions of EU?

According to Article 13 of the Treaty on European Union, the institutional framework comprises seven institutions:

  • the European Parliament.
  • the European Council.
  • the Council of the European Union (simply called ‘the Council’)
  • the European Commission.
  • the Court of Justice of the European Union.
  • the European Central Bank.

Which EU agencies have left the UK?

The two agencies currently based in the UK, the European Medicines Agency (EMA) and the European Banking Authority (EBA), have to be relocated in the context of the UK’s withdrawal from the EU.