Why is the National Flag of India called the tricolour?

Tiranga, which means “three colours” or “tricoloured,” is the common name for the national flag. It’s a horizontal tricolour with deep saffron at the top, white in the middle, and the Ashoka Chakra, a 24-spoke wheel in navy blue in its centre; and green at the bottom.

Who made Indian tricolour flag?

(or Pinglay) Venkayya
The design of the flag of India that was first presented in 1921 to Mahatma Gandhi, leader of the All-India Congress, was created by Pingali (or Pinglay) Venkayya. It consisted of the colours associated with the two principal religions, red for Hindus and green for Muslims.

Why Ashoka Chakra is blue?

Many inscriptions of Emperor Ashoka have a chakra (wheel shape) which is also called Ashoka Chakra. The circle is of blue colour. It is said about its color, blue color Represents the sky, the ocean and the universal truth. Hence the blue colored Ashoka Chakra is in the center of the white stripe of the national flag.

Which is the first flag of India?

The first national flag in India is said to have been hoisted on August 7, 1906, in the Parsee Bagan Square (Green Park) in Calcutta now Kolkata. The flag was composed of three horizontal strips of red, yellow and green.

What is the meaning of 3 colors in Indian flag?

In the national flag of India the top band is of Saffron colour, indicating the strength and courage of the country. The white middle band indicates peace and truth with Dharma Chakra. The last band is green in colour shows the fertility, growth and auspiciousness of the land.

Why do most flags have 3 colors?

They have come to represent liberty, equality and fraternity — the ideals of the French Revolution. Blue and red are also the timehonoured colours of Paris, while white is the colour of the Royal House of Bourbon.

What is the history of tricolour?

Every free nation of the world has its own flag. It is a symbol of a free country. The National Flag of India was adopted in its present form during the meeting of Constituent Assembly held on the 22 July 1947, a few days before India’s independence from the British on 15 August, 1947.

Who designed Tiranga?

Pingali VenkayyaFlag of India / Designed by

What does 24 spokes represent?

The 24 spokes represent the twelve causal links taught by the Buddha and paṭiccasamuppāda (Dependent Origination, Conditional Arising) in forward and then reverse order. The first 12 spokes represent 12 stages of suffering. Next 12 spokes represent no cause no effect.