Why is Lusophone literature so named?

Lusophone is a word that means “Portuguese-Speaking.” Luso refers to a tribe of people present in the western part of the Iberian Peninsula, Lusitani, during the centuries preceding the Common era (1). The word is applied to all countries where Portuguese is spoken.

What are Lusophone nations?

The Lusophone world are countries that speak Portuguese as their official language and were colonized by the Portuguese. With 270 million speakers, Portuguese is the sixth most spoken language on the planet.

Which African country is Lusophone?

The Portuguese-speaking African countries, also known as Lusophone Africa, consist of six African countries in which the Portuguese language is an official language: Angola, Cape Verde, Guinea-Bissau, Mozambique, São Tomé and Príncipe and, since 2011, Equatorial Guinea.

What is Lusophone African literature?

Lusophone Africa is a study of the contemporary cultural production of Portuguese-speaking Africa and its critical engagement with globalization in the aftermath of colonialism, especially since the advent of multiparty politics and market-oriented economies.

What is the meaning of anglophone and francophone?

The terms anglophone, francophone and allophone are used in Canada to describe three broad linguistic groups. The term francophone often refers to someone whose mother tongue is French.

How many countries are Lusophone?

The Lusophone Compact is a financing platform, involving the African Development Bank, Portugal, and the six Portuguese-speaking countries of Africa (PALOPs): Angola, Cabo Verde, Equatorial Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Mozambique and Sao Tome and Principe.

How many Anglophone countries are there?

67 different countries
Learn About All The English Speaking Countries In fact, English is recognized as an official language in a total of 67 different countries, as well as 27 non-sovereign entities.

Is Nigeria an anglophone?

Because English is one of the languages spoken there, six West African countries have been classified as anglophone – The Gambia, Sierra Leone, Liberia, Ghana, Nigeria and part of Cameroon –, while the remaining eleven countries – Senegal, Guinea-Bissau, Guinea, Ivory Coast, Mali, Togo, Benin, Burkina Faso, Niger, Chad …