Who is buried at Crowland Abbey?

Croyland Abbey was dedicated to Saint Mary the Virgin, Saint Bartholomew and Saint Guthlac. During the third quarter of the 10th century, Crowland came into the possession of the nobleman Turketul, a relative of Osketel, Archbishop of York.

Is Crowland a town or village?

Crowland (modern usage) or Croyland (medieval era name and the one still in ecclesiastical use; cf. Latin: Croilandia) is a town in the South Holland district of Lincolnshire, England. It is situated between Peterborough and Spalding.

What Council does Crowland come under?

Crowland – South Holland District Council.

Which county is Crowland in?

Crowland, village (parish) and abbey, South Holland district, administrative and historic county of Lincolnshire, eastern England. Crowland is situated in the low-lying Fens north of Peterborough, Cambridgeshire.

Why is Crowland called Crowland?

Crowland, also called Croyland, means soft land, thus deriving its name from its surroundings. Guthlac, seeking the life of a hermit, saw this as an ideal location and set up shop. Inspired by his commitment, a small monastic community began to grow in Crowland.

Who built Crowland Abbey?

Sure enough, Aethelbald became king of Mercia, and on St. Bartholomew’s Day 716 AD, two years after Guthlac’s death, Aethelbald founded Croyland Abbey.

How old is Crowland?

The monument includes the remains of Crowland Abbey, a monastery first founded in the early eighth century on the site of the hermitage of the Anglo-Saxon saint, Guthlac. It was destroyed by the Danes in 870 and re-founded as a Benedictine abbey in the mid-tenth century.

What is East Lindsey?

East Lindsey is a local government district in Lincolnshire, England. The population of the district council was 136,401 at the 2011 census. The council is based in Manby. Other major settlements in the district include Alford, Wragby, Spilsby, Mablethorpe, Skegness, Horncastle, Chapel St Leonards and Louth.

Is Holland a county in England?

Parts of Holland, also called Holland, formerly one of the three separately administered divisions of the historic county of Lincolnshire, England.

What happened to Crowland Abbey?

It was destroyed by the Danes in 870 and re-founded as a Benedictine abbey in the mid-tenth century.

What is Lincolnshire famous for?

Lincolnshire is also famous for its windmills, and interesting ones to visit include Heckington Windmill with its unique eight sails and the six-storey high Alford Windmill. During the summer months, crowds flock to Lincolnshire’s seaside resorts such as Cleethorpes and Skegness.

What council is tattershall under?

Lincolnshire County Council
Tattershall – Lincolnshire County Council.