Where does the name Boca Juniors come from?

Club Atlético Boca Juniors was formed in the capital’s rough port area of La Boca (The Mouth) – named after the point where the Riachelo river meets the bigger Río de la Plata – in 1905.

What is the Argentine league called?

The Primera División
The Primera División (Spanish pronunciation: [pɾiˈmeɾa ðiβiˈsjon]; (English: “First Division”), named Torneo Socios.com (English: “Tournament Socios.com”) since 2021 for sponsorship reasons, is a professional football league in Argentina, organised by the Argentine Football Association (AFA).

What is the mexican soccer league called?

Liga MX

Organising body Mexican Football Federation
Founded 17 October 1943, as Primera División
Country Mexico
Confederation CONCACAF
Number of teams 18

Who has the most titles in Liga MX?

Of the 56 teams to have competed in the league, América has won the title 13 times, followed by Guadalajara (12), Toluca (10), Cruz Azul (9), Leon (8), UANL and UNAM (7). The current league champions are Cruz Azul, winners of the Guardianes 2021 tournament.

Why does River Plate have an English name?

River Plate, who wear white shirts with a red diagonal band, took their name from the English version of Rio de la Plata stamped on crates of imported goods from Britain in the port of Buenos Aires.

Who is the best Mexican soccer player in history?

No one has played more times with the Mexico national team than Claudio Suárez. El Emperador was capped 178 times and captained the squad for many years.

What was Liga MX called before?

the Primera División
Liga MX, known as the Primera División (First Division) before the 2012–13 season, is the highest level of Mexican football and consists of 18 clubs.