What species are listed on CITES?

They include some whole groups, such as primates, cetaceans (whales, dolphins and porpoises), sea turtles, parrots, corals, cacti and orchids. But in some cases only a subspecies or geographically separate population of a species (for example the population of just one country) is listed.

How many species are listed under CITES?

After four decades, CITES remains one of the cornerstones of international conservation. There are 183 member Parties and trade is regulated in more than 35,000 species.

How many species of animals are protected by CITES?

CITES was conceived in the spirit of such cooperation. Today, it accords varying degrees of protection to more than 37,000 species of animals and plants, whether they are traded as live specimens, fur coats or dried herbs.

What plants are protected by CITES?

What Groups Are Controlled? There are four major succulent plant groups covered by CITES – the cactus family (Cactaceae), the succulent Euphorbia species (Euphorbiacae), the genera Aloe (Liliaceae) and Pachypodium (Apocynaceae).

How species are protected under CITES?

The CITES works by subjecting international trade in specimens of selected species to certain controls. All import, export, re-export and introduction from the sea of species covered by the Convention has to be authorized through a licensing system.

What did you understand about CITES how species are protected under CITES?

CITES protects these species from being excessively traded and exploited illegally and unsustainably in the wild as their extinction would have irreversible ecological consequences and negative economic and social effects.

What are CITES for Class 8?

CITES (the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora) is an international agreement between governments. It aims to ensure that international trade in specimens of wild animals and plants does not threaten their survival.