What are the 4 basic humors personality types described by Hippocrates?

Hippocrates’ temperament theory suggests that four bodily fluids (called humors)—namely, black bile, yellow bile, phlegm, and blood—directly affect an individual’s personality, behavior, and health (Johansson & Lynøe, 2008).

What did Hippocrates base his four temperaments on?

In fact, Hippocrates came up with one of the oldest personality type systems in the world, where he defined four personality types based on a person’s “humor” or the proportion of bodily fluids in one’s body. The predominant form of fluid determines the person’s appearance, behavior and psychological type.

What is Hippocrates theory of personality?

Hippocrates theorized that personality traits and human behaviors are based on four separate temperaments associated with four fluids (“humors”) of the body: choleric temperament (yellow bile from the liver), melancholic temperament (black bile from the kidneys), sanguine temperament (red blood from the heart), and …

What are the different temperament of Hippocrates?

What were the 4 humors and what were they associated with?

According to humoralism, four bodily fluids—blood, yellow bile, black bile, and phlegm—determined a person’s temperament and an imbalance led to certain sicknesses dependent upon which humors were in excess or deficit. The humors were connected to celestial bodies, seasons, body parts, and stages of life.

What are the 4 humors of the body?

Greek physician Hippocrates (ca. 460 BCE–370 BCE) is often credited with developing the theory of the four humors—blood, yellow bile, black bile, and phlegm—and their influence on the body and its emotions.

What are the 4 basic personality types?

The four temperament theory is a proto-psychological theory which suggests that there are four fundamental personality types: sanguine, choleric, melancholic, and phlegmatic.

What do the 4 humors represent?

Put simply, the four humours were: blood (sanguine), yellow bile (choleric), black bile (melancholic), and phlegm (phlegmatic). These four substances were organised around the four elements, the four qualities of cold, hot, moist, and dry, as well as around the four seasons, and even around planets.