What are the 10 stages of enlightenment?


  • 1.1 The first bhūmi, the Very Joyous.
  • 1.2 The second bhūmi, the Stainless.
  • 1.3 The third bhūmi, the Light-Maker.
  • 1.4 The fourth bhūmi, the Radiant Intellect.
  • 1.5 The fifth bhūmi, Difficult to Master.
  • 1.6 The sixth bhūmi, the Manifest.
  • 1.7 The seventh bhūmi, the Gone Afar.
  • 1.8 The eighth bhūmi, the Immovable.

What are the stages of Buddhism?

These four stages are Sotāpanna, Sakadāgāmi, Anāgāmi, and Arahant. The oldest Buddhist texts portray the Buddha as referring to people who are at one of these four stages as noble people (ariya-puggala) and the community of such persons as the noble sangha (ariya-sangha).

What are the ten worlds in Buddhism?

The worlds are, in ascending order of the degree of free will, compassion and happiness one feels, the worlds of: (1) hell, (2) hungry spirits, (3) animals, (4) asuras, (5) human beings (6) heavenly beings, (7) voice-hearers, (8) cause-awakened ones, (9) bodhisattvas, and (10) Buddhas.

What are the 7 stages of enlightenment in Buddhism?

The Seven Factors of Enlightenment

  • of 07. Mindfulness. Seven hot-air balloons float over ancient Buddhist temples at Bagan, Burma (Myanmar).
  • of 07. Investigation. GettyImages.
  • of 07. Energy. Galina Barskaya | Dreamstime.com.
  • of 07. Happiness.
  • of 07. Tranquility.
  • of 07. Concentration.
  • of 07. Equanimity.

What are the 10 factors in Nichiren Buddhism?

This reality consists of appearance, nature, entity, power, influence, internal cause, relation, latent effect, manifest effect, and their consistency from beginning to end.”

What are the Buddhist realms?

Buddhist cosmology typically identifies six realms of rebirth and existence: gods, demi-gods, humans, animals, hungry ghosts and hells. Earlier Buddhist texts refer to five realms rather than six realms; when described as five realms, the god realm and demi-god realm constitute a single realm.

What are the 5 morals of Buddhism?

The precepts are commitments to abstain from killing living beings, stealing, sexual misconduct, lying and intoxication. Within the Buddhist doctrine, they are meant to develop mind and character to make progress on the path to enlightenment.