Can you force a tapped creature to block?

You cannot attack or block with a creature that is tapped. So you are correct, if you tap a creature to use an ability before the attack phase, you won’t be able to choose it as an attacker, and it won’t be an available defender during your opponent’s next turn.

When you block in Magic do you tap?

Does Blocking Tap Creatures? When you’re being attacked, you can (but don’t have to) assign blockers. One of the most common misconceptions is that blocking taps units—this isn’t true; only untapped creatures can block, but the act itself doesn’t actually tap them.

Can creatures with protection be blocked?

A creature with protection from a color “can’t be blocked, targeted, dealt damage, enchanted, or equipped by anything” of that color. Now that’s a mouthful! Let’s go through those cases one by one. Can’t be Blocked: A creature with protection from X can’t be blocked by creatures with X quality.

Can you tap creatures without attacking?

You can’t just tap a creature at will. Creature only become tapped when they attack (unless they have vigilance), when they’re tapped pay costs to activate abilities, or when an effect causes them to become tapped.

What happens when you tap a blocking creature MTG?

The resolution is the attacking creature remains blocked and the damage resolves the same regardless if the blocking creature is tapped or not. They both do full damage as they normally would, and trigger any effects they normally would.

Do tapped blocking creatures deal damage?

TAPPED CREATURES DEAL NO DAMAGE. Change: Under Fifth Edition rules, tapped blocking creatures dealt no damage in combat. Under Sixth Edition rules, they do.

What happens if a blocking creature becomes tapped?

Do defending creatures tap?

A creature that attacks also gets tapped, unless it has vigilance, but a defending creature does not.

Does protection stop blocking?

Protection just means that the creature won’t be damaged, enchanted, blocked or targeted by anything green. Thus, if a white creature with protection from green blocks a green creature, the white creature will take no damage.

Can you tap a creature just because?

MTG Tap and Untap Examples You can’t tap a creature whenever you want. You can only tap a creature when you need to attack, activate its ability, or pay a specific cost. The same rule applies to untapping creatures. You can only untap a creature during your untap step or when prompted to by a spell or ability.

Can you tap down creatures after attackers are declared?

No one has priority to do anything while attackers are being declared during the declare attackers phase. You can tap creatures once the attack phase is entered, but before attackers are declared, however.